Build your own SpaceX Falcon 9

Are you a fan of SpaceX or just a space modeler or rocketeer looking for your next build? Why not build a SpaceX Falcon 9 in time for its first launch to the IIS in April?
You have a options when it comes to the build.

First option is you can buy the official model
made by SpaceX and sold at Amazon

LINK TO MODEL AT AMAZON 

SpaceX’s Falcon 9 kit

Second Option is to build a paper model

The static model is available to download and print from The Lower Hudson Valley Paper Model E-Gift Shop for free. (scroll 3/4 down the page)

or

You can download the static model and with a few simple conversions make it flyable like I did.
Here is my flyable model:

My Paper flyable Falcon 9

The model can be built using the standard static build and replacing the centering rings with more substantial material. I choose to build the Falcon 9 with Dragon crew capsule. I used foam board with a 13 mm hole used to run a 13 mm tube throughout the length. The rocket separates at the Dragon capsule and successfully flies on 13mm motors. I made the fins from clear plastic to keep the Falcon 9 no fin look.

Third option is to scratch build
See this scratch build here

Which ever option you choose the Falcon 9 makes a great addition to the fleet.

For more details on the Falcon 9 check out these references:
Falcon 9 – Wikipedia
Falcon 9 official site at SpaceX 

…and for more great paper models please visit my Ultimate Paper Rocket Guide

This entry was posted in Builds, Daily Journals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Build your own SpaceX Falcon 9

  1. Al K. says:

    Does anyone have a copy of the India paper rocket model of their GSLV?

  2. Pingback: סטיילינג אונליין

  3. Pingback: tools

  4. Pingback: check it out

  5. Pingback: Print and build your own paper Dragon Spacecraft « The Rocketry Blog

  6. Pingback: tratamenet naturiste

  7. Pingback: gratis uw adverentie

  8. Pingback: awillage

  9. Pingback: Model now available at SpaceX store « The Rocketry Blog

  10. Pingback: Top 10 Post on Rocketry Blog for 2012 « The Rocketry Blog

  11. I was curious if you ever considered changing the structure of your blog?

    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little
    more in the way of content so people could connect
    with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having
    one or 2 images. Maybe you could space it out better?

  12. I’d like to thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this site. I’m hoping to see the same high-grade content by
    you later on as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities
    has inspired me to get my very own blog now😉

  13. erotyka says:

    Somebody necessarily lend a hand to make seriously articles I would state.
    This is the first time I frequented your web page and so far?
    I surprised with the analysis you made to create this actual submit amazing.
    Excellent task!

  14. SEO Organics says:

    I every time spent my half an hour to read this weblog’s articles everyday along with a cup of coffee.

  15. If you are going for best contents like I do, simply pay a quick visit
    this web page every day for the reason that it provides feature
    contents, thanks

Leave a Reply

