Rocket Software for the rest of us

Over the years I have never invested money in Rocket design and simulation software. I’ve used demo versions of RockSim and SpaceCad.  I usually just settled with the free tools like VCP and WRASP. They were sufficient for me and the price was right.
Well I have a new favorite.
Open Rocket Rocks! I’m really impressed with the version 1.0.0 of Open Rocket. The application is written in Java so it’s cross platform. I’m sitting here running it on my Ubuntu 9.04 laptop and it is snappy and a breeze to work in. It only took me a few minutes to design, simulate and plot my first test rocket. The software is intuative and reminds me of older versions of RockSim but you can’t beat the price of Open Rocket. It’s Free!!!!

Screenshot 1

Screenshot 2

Screenshot 3

Get Open Rocket here

This entry was posted in Great Rocketry Links. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rocket Software for the rest of us

  1. Artemi says:

    I’ve been using it for a while. From 0.9.3 release in fact. Very good tool. I don’t need any rocksims at all.
    I’ve tried trial versions of RockSim, but Open Rocket is more intuitive and has better interface. I especially like that Configuration window stays open when I switch bet different elements in the design window.

    The only drawback is that it’s not possible to export or print out anything at all.

  2. Kerry Quinn says:

    I too like OpenRocket. I developed a tool to let you print fin and transition templates from your OpenRocket designs. I also presented a talk on OpenRocket at Narcon 2010. Both my talk, and my printing utility tool are available here:

    http://www.foxvalleyrocketeers.org/myframes/reports.htm

    -Kerry

  3. Pingback: Your Questions About Estes Rockets | Estes Rockets.org

Leave a Reply

