More Paper Rocket Hacks

OK time for a few more paper rocket hacks. I launch a number of different paper rockets each month. I was looking at a few of my favorite classic paper rocket builds and realized that two of them could easily be hacked to create two new excellent fliers.

The first is the classic Tricarrow from Model Minutes. This is a really easy hack.  I call this the Extended Tricarrow.
The PDF file includes 2 body tubes. One is decorated the other blank. I always felt that the fins on the Tricarrow seemed a bit to large but by extending the body tube by twice its length the rocket looks and flies great. I simply created a coupler out of card stock to extend the two body tubes. As always please swing test before flying. I added a small bit of clay to the nose for extra stability.

Tricarrow download at Model Minutes

The Extended Tricarrow

The Extended Tricarrow

The second hack is to my favorite paper rocket of all time. The Fliskits Midnight Express. I call this hack the ME Fighter. To create this hack I simply printed out the standard ME then printed out the fins again at 225%. I used 2 of the larger fins as the fighter “wings” and one of the normal fins. I also rolled two small “micro sized” tubes to fit at the junction of the wings to resemble guns. I used an old Estes paper canopy and the rest of the build is as standard. The result is the ME Fighter. As always please swing test before flying. I added a small bit of clay to the nose for extra stability.

Midnight Express download page
Canopy download (scale this to fit your rocket)

ME Fighter paper hack

ME Fighter paper hack

ME Fighter - front view

ME Fighter - front view

As always these paper rocket links and more can be found on my Ultimate Paper Rocket Guide

This entry was posted in Builds and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

