Are You A Swinger?

stable
NAR Model Rocketry Safety Code
“#5 – Stability – I will check the stability of my model rocket before its first flight, except when launching a model rocket of already proven stability.”

I build a number of scratch low powered rockets. I always do the swing test prior to flying my rocket. I have always had a great deal of success with it. Often the rocket will test unstable and I will add weight to the nose until I get a stable swing. I have never had a rocket fly unstable after passing the swing test. Even after RocSim says my rocket is stable I like to check with a string test. I do realize that the swing test has it’s limitations. The larger the rocket the harder it is to do an actual swing test and get a correct result. Do you do swing test? Do you just trust RocSim or other tools?

Here is a great article on why swing test often fail.

…..some great info on stability.

From the Centauri Rocket Designers Manual

…and let ‘s not forget Mr.Barrowman

This entry was posted in Rocketry Education. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Are You A Swinger?

  1. nice writing! good work🙂

  2. Nice articel ! nice job !

  3. Swinger says:

    Yes, I am a Swinger🙂

  4. Pingback: More Paper Rocket Hacks « The Rocketry Blog

Leave a Reply

