How do you fold your chute?

foldchute
I’ve always used the old Estes method illustrated above to fold my LPR chutes. I am happy to announce that I will no longer use this method and will use a new method I read about in the latest Apogee newsletter (PDF file -method on page 7). This method decreases the possibility of tangles in the shroad lines. I was suprised at how little information is on the web about folding your parachute. I guess most people are simply following the diagrams in their build instructions. Do you fold or roll or a combination of the two? Do you wrap the shroad lines around the chute or not?

parafold
previous post on chutes

care and feeding of your chutes

This entry was posted in Rocketry Education. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How do you fold your chute?

  1. Dick Stafford says:

    I more or less follow the second method.

Leave a Reply

