A Sticky Situation

My first model rockets were put together almost entirely with Elmers Glue. After I read in "Handbook of Model Rocketry" by Harry Stine that he used Aleene's Original Tacky Glue (available
at craft stores) I switched. Aleene's is thick, dries fast, dries clear
and it doesn't even shrink. It is perfect for the small scale model
rocket. However as you up the g's and rocket size Epoxys work better. What do you use? What works best for Mid-Power?

This entry was posted in technique. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Sticky Situation

  1. andy says:

    wood glue for midpower, I only use epoxy for plastic parts

    I like titebond III.for everything wood or paper

  2. Chad says:

    I use Elmers wood glue for model rockets. I used Tacky glue before but decided I didn’t like it because even when dry it’s flexible. I prefer the rigidity of Elmer’s Carpenter’s Wood Glue. Why did you switch?

  3. rocketry says:

    Never had a problem with it being flexible.Remember when attaching fins to apply a very thin layer of glue and add strength with the filets.Too much glue creates a layer that can flex. I use Aleen’s Ultra for most low power builds (MMX-D) – I use Titebond for mid power. I use Epoxy for mid-high power.

Leave a Reply

